In order to meet the system and security requirements set forth by Google’s newest storage policy, PointMan was required to make certain changes regarding how user data is stored.

Before this policy, PointMan was allowed to store your data separate from the application itself, meaning uninstalling the PointMan app would not cause you to lose any data. However, with this new policy, all local data is now stored within the app’s scoped storage, meaning you will now lose your local data if you uninstall the app. If you have a Pro license, your data is stored in the cloud unless you are offline.

Note: Google’s new way of handling storage on Android devices is very similar to how Apple handles storage on iOS devices. 

How do I prevent any data loss?

To prevent any data loss, PointMan has provided a way for users to manually back up their data and then restore it. This can be done from the Settings page in the PointMan app. 

When should I back up my data?

  • Before you uninstall PointMan

Note: It is generally better to use Safe Launch mode instead for troubleshooting

  • If you have a Plus license, at regular intervals
  • If you have a Pro license, when you are offline for extended periods

Note: It is generally better to go online at regular intervals 

How do I backup my data?

  1. Open the PointMan app.
  2. Tap the icon in the upper left corner of the Map view to open the Menu panel.
  3. Tap “Settings”.
  4. Scroll down to the “Backup” section.
    *Insert screenshot here*
  5. Tap the “Backup” button and then tap “OK”.
  6. If you would like, rename the file and select where you would like to store the backup file for potential future use.
    Note: The following are high recommendations for saving your backup files.
    • If you are changing the file name, include the date of when the backup was created.
    • If applicable to the selected platform, create a folder labeled “PointMan Backups”, so that you may easily locate your saved files in the future.
  7. Locate your file to ensure that it did save in the correct spot. It should have been saved as a .zip 

How do I restore my data from a backup file?

  1. Open the PointMan app.
  2. Select the icon in the upper left corner of the Map view to open the Menu panel.
  3. Tap “Settings”.
  4. Scroll down to the Backup and Restore section.
  5. Tap the “Restore” button and then tap “OK”.
  6. Select the correct .zip file from wherever you previously chose to save the file.
  7. PointMan will have to restart after Restoring data.
  8. Open the PointMan app again and verify that your data has been properly restored. 

My data was not fully restored from the backup file. What do I do?

Should restoring the file not bring up all your data, please contact the PointMan Support Team via the directions below:

Email: support@prostarcorp.com

Please include the following in your email:

  • Whether you have a Plus or Pro license
  • The backup file you are using to restore your data
  • A PointMan Log File
  • What data you believe is missing
  • The project name and layer names that you believe are missing data
  • A callback number should we need to contact you for more information

To retrieve a log file:

  1. Go to the PointMan Settings page (From the map view, tap the icon in the upper left corner of the screen and tap “Settings”.)
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page
  3. Tap the “Send Log File…” button and either email the log to yourself and download the file or save it somewhere that you can easily access
  4. Attach the Log File to your email with the bulleted information above

If you call the support line, we will still need the files and bulleted information above. Thus, your issue will be handled quicker if an email with the files and bulleted information above is sent to the support address.

Note: Please give us a couple of hours to determine the cause of the issue, locate your missing data, and then import any retrievable data. We will keep you updated throughout the whole process.